From ASL Interpreter To Hearing Impaired in 10 seconds


Hello Luvs,

I truly try not to complain or ask for help often; but I’m having a rough pain night… When I feel like this I find something that makes me feel good and I try to do it, read it, play it, sing it, sign it Etc. Tonight I can’t sign it so I watched myself sign the ASL cover for @Hold On” by Wilson Phillips… It did make me feel a little better if only for 3-4 minutes. Then I thought that I would share it with you! Because if I’m having a rough night, others must be as well. You see, I’ve tried to make some lemonade when life’s tosses lemons at me!

I used to be a sign language interpreter for the Deaf . I graduated from university with my degree in “Sign language studies / Interpreting”. I was a single mom (but I’ve been remarried now almost 20 yrs to my soul mate), worked full time at university of Michigan hospitals as an interpreter for patient services. I interpreted for Deaf students at 2 school systems “Magnet” Hearing impaired programs & at Madonna University in the classrooms.

In 2002 when a man ran a red light I lost so much: not only was my car totaled, but my body & my career. I suffer from chronic intractable pain. I’ve had multiple injuries, surgeries (8), a heart attack and a stroke! I suffer from Dysautonomia / POTS / Autonomic Neuropathy, polyneuropathy in Collagen Vascular disease(like the vascular EDS), Arnold Chiari I, Sick Sinus Syndrome (with a pacemaker), S.C.I.D. (severe combined Immune Deficiency disease), RA ,OA & the worst is CRPS, or aka “Complex Regional pain syndrome”. The CRPS started in my right foot after a surgery. It then spread to my right knee, left foot & knee.

In 2013 I had what was supposed to be a simple pacemaker replacement surgery. It turned into a long & difficult pacemaker and pectoral muscle rebuild surgery! Afterwards at my 6 week post-op check up, my CRPS was reassessed  by my Neuro-Cardiologist. He said that it had progressed to” full body/systemic CRPS, severe & disseminated”.

My career was taken from me! I also suffered a TBI in the car accident and was in brain injury rehab for 3 yrs! Id been an Interpreter for the Deaf & Blind and now I’m hearing impaired & I have 2 hearing aids. I can’t process signals of spoken language the same as I could.  My brain isn’t able to switch the words into another language whilst coming out of my hands & arms any longer. That connection was gone or at least now too slow for interpreting!

My short term memory is “in the toilet”, according to my neuro-psych tests. My love and compassion for helping people, especially children, is still  in my heart but the injuries stole my career from me. I was so very sad! Then I thought “how lucky that it’s me because I know ASL fluently, I can read lips well & my long term memory is in tact. I remember all of the signs! Artistic ASL is emotional and beautiful. It has awakened the “old days” for me when I lived in Az & worked at school for the Deaf with Deaf pre-schoolers! It has reminded me of when I was involved in 2 Drama groups w/choreography in ASL to songs! One was called “Silent Impressions Productions”, we put on shows at ASU! The other group was called “Silent Praise”, & we Interpreted at church, did interpretive dancing & signed to beautiful songs at the Neumann center at ASU! I was lucky to still have my gift yet in a different way. Watching  songs done in artistic ASL is emotional and so beautiful.

I started signing beautiful songs again, which made something wonderful stir         inside of me once more & brought the sparkle back to my eyes!

I started a “You Tube” page (ASLSuzyQ) and a facebook page (I Luv ASL) for my ASL songs. thought that if I could be cheered up …then maybe I could cheer up others who are hurting, sad or both? So “Hold On”…Don’t give up and watch this & maybe, just maybe it’ll cheer you too!

https://youtu.be/cjrMvKpxge0

 

 

 

